Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg


Address: Universitätsplatz 10, 06108 Halle (Saale)

University of Halle-Wittenberg is also known as Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg. It was named after Martin Luther King Jr who was ever a professor there and known for his effort for black rights in USA. This university is also considered as a public run-state university which concern on research oriented. It is situated in Wittenberg, Saxony Anhalt province Germany. Now they could run bachelor degree, master and doctoral degree which use bilingual system, English and Germany. It was founded in 1817 after the merger between Wittenberg and Halle University, both were among oldest universities of Germany. They have almost 22,000 active students with more than 5,400 academic staff hired to run teaching and learning process. They now have 9 different major faculty which fully operated independently. Students are able to choose any faculty including: Faculty of Theology, Law and Economics, Medicine, Philosophy I (Social and Cultural Studies, History), Philosophy II (Ancient and Modern Languages, Communication Studies, Music), Philosophy III (Pedagogy), Natural Sciences I (Biochemistry, Biology, Pharmacy) and so on