College of Charleston (Charleston or CoFC)


Address: Charleston, South Carolina, U.S

College of Charleston (Charleston or CoFC) was founded in 1770 and chartered in 1785. The founders of the College include three future signers of the Declaration of Independence (Edward Rutledge, Arthur Middleton and Thomas Heyward) and three future signers of the United States Constitution (John Rutledge, Charles Pinckney, and Charles Cotesworth Pinckney). This college is in company with the Colonial Colleges as one of the oldest schools.

College of Charleston (Charleston or CoFC) purposes to share knowledge through study, inquiry, and creation in order to prepare the individual and enrich society. For learning principal, this university has three values, they are Educational Excellence that refers to intellectual, creative, ethical, and social development through a range of programs focused on the liberal arts and sciences; Student Community that creates mutual respect, diversity, and collaboration for the welfare of the individual and the institution; The history, traditions, and environment of Charleston that offers different opportunities and relationships that advance university’s public mission in the Charleston and the world.